Ed Franklin

Dr. Ed Franklin retired after serving as executive director of the Arkansas Association of Two-Year Colleges (AATYC) from 1996 to 2014.  Under his leadership, AATYC successfully collaborated with two year- colleges, business/industry leaders, state agencies, and other organizations to develop regional and sector partnerships as well as implement student success initiatives.  Currently, Dr. Franklin is president of Franklin Educational Consulting. 


Dr. Franklin has over 40 years of experience working at community and technical colleges in three states.  He has taught and performed a variety of administrative duties on campuses ranging from 1,500 to 33,000 students.  Dr. Franklin has served as a consultant to colleges throughout the United States, has contributed chapters to numerous publications, and has been a featured speaker at more than 100 conferences. 


Dr. Franklin has served as chair of the National Council of State Directors of Community Colleges.   The council is an affiliate of the American Association of Community Colleges and provides a forum for the exchange of information about developments, trends and problems in state systems of community colleges across the United States. 


He has also served on the board of the Arkansas Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Technology Coalition, vice-chair of the Connect Arkansas Board, and was a member of the Accelerate Arkansas Board.  Governor Mike Beebe appointed him to serve on the Governor’s Workforce Cabinet, where he was the only nongovernmental member.  He has an extensive history of community volunteer activities and is a Paul Harris Fellow. 


Previously, Dr. Franklin was appointed by Secretary of Education Riley to serve on the Board of the National Technical Institute for the Deaf in Rochester, New York.  He was appointed by Governor Mike Huckabee to the Southern Growth Policies Board Council for the New Economy Workforce and was a member of the Cisco Networking Academy Advisory Council.  Dr. Franklin was appointed to the implementation committee for the American Association of Community Colleges 21st Century Commission on the Future of Community Colleges—Reclaiming the American Dream.  He also developed and produced more than 20 educational television programs and was a finalist for an American Cable Excellence (ACE) Award for educational programming.

Shadowbox Semi-Transparent Layer


Shadowbox Content Here