DREAM2017 Plenary Speakers

Achieving the Dream’s annual convening, DREAM, is a unique collaborative and learning event that brings together groups of faculty, staff, and administrators from more than 260 community colleges across the country. The conference is designed to enable and support team learning and connections among colleagues from other colleges to share their experiences about student success work on their campuses. Participants also have an opportunity to learn about ATD’s leading work in a number of transformational initiatives, including ATD’s partnership with the AACC Pathways effort, and ATD-led efforts to scale the implementation of Open Educational Resources Degrees, Integrated Planning and Advising for Student Success, Working Student Success Network, Engaging Adjunct Faculty in the Student Success Movement, and Adaptive Digital Learning.

Through sessions, workshops, and plenaries, attendees will hear from a number of experts in the field who will be sharing research and lessons learned, as well as predicting what is around the next bend for community colleges. See the full schedule here.

The slate of plenary topics and speakers has been set and includes:

The Impact of Reform and Innovation: Lessons from the Field

  • Mark Milliron, Co-Founder & Chief Learning Officer, Civitas
  • Shara Davis, Achieving the Dream Data Coach
  • Virginia Fraire, Vice President of Student Services, Austin Community College District
  • Frank Gornick, Chancellor, West Hills Community College District
  • Wendy Prater, Associate Vice Chancellor, LSC-Online, Lone Star College
  • Karen Stout, President & CEO, Achieving the Dream

Engaging Faculty as Active Leaders of Change

  • Ave Latte, Brookdale Community College
  • Kara Battle, Associate Dean in Science, Durham Technical Community College
  • Betsy Christensen, Adjunct Faculty, Department of English, Delta College
  • Isabel Dehmer-Rodriguez, Faculty, Miami Dade College
  • Tia Brown McNair, Vice President, Office of Diversity, Equity, and Student Success, Association of American Colleges and Universities

DREAM Scholars Panel

  • Joye Hardiman, Faculty Emerita, Evergreen State College
  • Christopher Son, Student, Onondaga Community College
  • Enrique Sepulveda III, Student, Miami Dade College, Wolfson Campus
  • Jesus Suarez, Student, Cuyamaca College
  • Mac Donald Taylor Jr., Student, Delaware County Community College
  • RyKai Wright, Student, Community College of Allegheny County
  • Yolanda Zenteno, Student, Columbus State Community College
  • Terrell Strayhorn, Professor and Director of the Center for Higher Education Enterprise, Ohio State University

Meet our 2017 DREAM Scholars here.

Shadowbox Semi-Transparent Layer


Shadowbox Content Here