Twenty Colleges Join Achieving the Dream’s 2018 Cohort to Build Capacity for Pathways

The 20 colleges in Achieving the Dream’s 2018 cohort make up one of the largest new cohorts in the organization’s 14-year history as well as the first to begin their ATD journeys building institutional strength explicitly to prepare to implement pathways.

The new cohort strengthens ATD’s Network to include more than 200 colleges from 41 states, adding eight colleges from the Tennessee System, two institutions from Mississippi funded by The Woodward Hines Education Foundation, and one from Delaware.

“The College System of Tennessee shares the ATD vision of community colleges highly valued for preserving access and ensuring success for all students, especially low-income students and students of color.  We want to achieve that vision for Tennessee and we understand the value and benefits of collaboration, so it makes sense for us to establish a systemwide Achieving the Dream network,” said Dr. Flora W. Tydings, Chancellor of the Tennessee Board of Regents. “Having led the first college in Georgia and one of the first in Tennessee into the program, I know the value of Achieving the Dream and I believe in its mission of achievement and equity, its data-driven approach and the results that can be achieved. I am pleased that eight of our community colleges and the system office have been selected to join Achieving the Dream’s 2018 cohort, bringing to 12 the number of “Dream” colleges in our system.”

Colleges that joined ATD over the last two years have been organizing their success work using ATD’s, which identifies seven functional areas including equity, leadership, strategy and planning, and data and technology that colleges need to develop to foster a culture of student success that leads to improved outcomes. The framework also helps colleges integrate and align change efforts that already may be underway. A companion assessment tool enables colleges to pinpoint their strengths and areas for improvement across the capacities.

When teams from each of the 20 colleges in the 2018 cohort convene later this month for a three-day Kickoff Institute, they will be introduced to the framework as a way of thinking about and preparing for pathways. Each team also will meet for the first time with their ATD Leadership Coach and Data Coach, community college leaders who are carefully matched with each institution to provide personalized advice and guidance to build needed capacities, align student success efforts, and to support change where it is needed. In addition, the teams will begin to organize their student success work for the year, including preparations for their on-campus launch in the fall. They will receive an in-depth orientation to ATD, including how to leverage the power of the national Network.

Colleges joining the ATD Network include:

  • Coahoma Community College (MS)

  • Columbia State Community College (TN)

  • County College of Morris (NJ)

  • Delaware Technical Community College (DE)

  • Dyersburg State Community College (TN)

  • Gateway Community College (CT)

  • Harford Community College (MD)

  • Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College (MS)

  • Motlow State Community College (TN)

  • Nashville State Community College (TN)

  • Northeast State Community College (TN)

  • North Central Texas College (TX)

  • Olympic College (WA)

  • Palm Beach State College (FL)

  • Pellissippi State Community College (TN)

  • Rogue Community College (OR)

  • Vance-Granville Community College (NC)

  • Volunteer State Community College (TN)

  • Walters State Community College (TN)

  • West Hills College Coalinga (CA)

Read press release here.

Shadowbox Semi-Transparent Layer


Shadowbox Content Here