Achieving the Dream Honors Founding Board Chairs

SILVER SPRING, MD (June 5, 2019) – The Board of Directors of Achieving the Dream (ATD) is proud to announce a resolution designating outgoing board members Leah Meyer Austin and Marc S. Herzog as Board of Director Emerita and Emeritus, respectively. The designations honor the accomplishments of Ms. Austin and Mr. Herzog as they each complete nine years of distinguished service as inaugural members of the Achieving the Dream Board of Directors.

“Over the past decade, Achieving the Dream has expanded our impact in ways that we could not have imagined,” stated Board Chair Dr. Pam Eddinger, President of Bunker Hill Community College. “We owe much of our success to the passion and commitment that Leah and Marc have shown in guiding the organization toward a bright future.”

As Vice President of the Lumina Foundation for Education from 2003 to 2008, Leah Meyer Austin advanced the organization’s grantmaking, strategic planning, and research programs to enable more people from all walks of life to attend college and complete postsecondary work. Her exemplary work at the Lumina Foundation led her to envisioning Achieving the Dream as an initiative to improve student success outcomes at community colleges. As a Board member for Achieving the Dream, Ms. Austin worked tirelessly for the growth of the organization, serving on multiple committees and contributing her expertise in the field. Her contributions include connecting the organization to new donors and board members, resulting in an infusion of opportunities that advanced the progress of the nascent organization.

As Chancellor of the Connecticut Community College System, Marc S. Herzog brought valuable system perspective to Achieving the Dream’s work in the early years of its founding. His more than three decades of experience in numerous community college leadership positions, including work as an adjunct faculty member, brought valuable insight to his board service. Mr. Herzog’s leadership and visionary work on the Board’s Finance and Audit Committee led to ATD gaining a secure financial footing, and his commitment to championing affordability and accessibility of higher education is reflected in Achieving the Dream’s ongoing pursuit of student success. He tenure on the Board ends in the same month that eight Connecticut colleges join the 2019 cohort of Network colleges, a fitting legacy for someone who has led the state’s community college system.

“I’ve learned so much in working with these two great leaders during my time with Achieving the Dream,” shared ATD President and CEO Dr. Karen A. Stout. “Their wisdom, hard work, and dedication during their nine years of service has led to countless new opportunities for the organization. They’ve made a difference in the lives of students across the country.”

Ms. Austin and Mr. Herzog follow Dr. Robert G. Templin, Jr., who was the first to be granted status, in 2018, as Director Emeritus. The designations of Board of Director Emerita and Emeritus for Ms. Austin and Mr. Herzog are effective with the approval of the ATD Board in June 2019.

Achieving the Dream (ATD) leads a growing network of more than 277 community colleges committed to helping their students, particularly low-income students and students of color, achieve their goals for academic success, personal growth, and economic opportunity. ATD is making progress in closing equity gaps and accelerating student success through a unique change process that builds each college’s institutional capacities in seven essential areas. ATD, along with nearly 75 experienced coaches and advisors, works closely with Network colleges in 44 states and the District of Columbia to reach more than 4 million community college students. Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn.

Shadowbox Semi-Transparent Layer


Shadowbox Content Here