2016 Leah Meyer Austin Award Application Summary and Rubric

Award Overview

The Leah Meyer Austin Award (LMA Award) annually recognizes an Achieving the Dream Institution that has demonstrated outstanding progress in achieving organizational and cultural change in pursuit of a student success vision that integrates all its individual efforts into a cohesive strategy. Successful institutions design whole-college solutions to support and promote the success of all students, resulting in significant and sustainable institutional improvement. Institutions take bold actions to design policies, processes, and programs that reinforce desire to achieve the institution’s student success and equity goals. Winners exhibit dynamic and committed leadership, demonstrating the following: cultivate a culture of evidence, support and promote broad and meaningful engagement from stakeholders across the college community, and pay particularly close attention to the needs of underrepresented and underserved students.


Eligible Applicants

Active Achieving the Dream Institutions that joined the Network in 2013 or prior and have not received the LMA Award in the last previous two years (2014 or 2015) are eligible to apply. For a complete list of active institutions, please visit our website. Achieving the Dream will announce the winner of the LMA award at DREAM 2016. The winner will be notified by November 20, 2015, and will agree to keep the results confidential until the formal announcement.


How to Apply

Applicants should submit the narrative-questions and evidence-upload components to austinaward@achievingthedream.org by 11:59 pm ET, October 16, 2015.


We strongly encourage applicants to review the full application and review the rubric prior to beginning their application.

Resource Files

2015 LMA Award Overview and Rubric493.67 KB

Shadowbox Semi-Transparent Layer


Shadowbox Content Here